Whole Wheat Apple Banana Muffins

Last week our house was being overtaken by gnats…yuck! I’d like to think it was all because we just live in an old house with old pipes (my mother said growing up our old farmhouse did that too); but I know part of the problem was my 6 bananas that were turning brown. In an effort to get rid of the gnats I did some late Friday evening baking. *Warning: Do not Bake at night unless you are really awake!*

Back in college my Grandma S. gave me one of the easiest recipes ever: Banana Apple Muffins. Friday night, knowing I had to use all my bananas I made two varieties of the recipe. First was the original recipe and second I used whole wheat flour. This is really so easy that anyone can make these! It would even be a good recipe to have kids help you with or for anyone who wants to get into baking. The recipe below is for the whole wheat version, mainly because they turned out the best! *Warning: Do not forget the baking soda!!*

Whole Wheat Apple Banana Muffins
1 Stick Butter
1 Cup sugar
1 Egg
3 Ripe Bananas – Mashed
2 cups Whole Wheat Flour
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1 tsp. Cinnamon
1 Apple – Cubed

Cream together the butter, egg and sugar. Next add in mashed bananas. Mix in the dry ingredients until fully blended. Fold in the cubed apples. Line or spray muffin tin and fill 3/4 of the way full with mixture. For a special touch, sprinkle a little sugar on the top of the muffins. Then bake for 30-35 minutes in 350 degree oven.

image

A few notes about this recipe:

  • I like my apple chunks to be a little on the big side so you can actually taste the apple. The first time I made this recipe I could hardly taste the apples!
  • If you don’t like whole wheat flour, just use 2 cups regular flour.
  • Using an ice cream scoop makes getting even sized muffins a lot easier.
  • Baking time is dependent on your oven. Just be sure to check a muffin with a toothpick- if it comes out clean, they’re done!
  • Oh, don’t forget the baking soda…or else your muffins turn out to be albino paper weight muffins! Oops! A downside to late night baking 🙂

Enjoy and I hope you all try to make these super easy muffins! Let me know if you tried something different: Flax Seed? Different Fruit? Less butter? Splenda? Whatever the change, I would love to hear how they turned out!

The Country Wife

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Apple Banana Muffins

  1. We always have those gnats too! Ugh! I must try these muffins, I love using whole wheat in baking too! Another way to use up bananas is to peel and freeze thwm for smoothies. I do that all the time!

    • Are they gnats? Or the tiny fruit flies? We had a bunch of those around a few weeks ago–our house isn’t that old. They tend to come when we have fruit that’s going bad out in the fruit basket. I fill a cup with vinegar–you could also use some chunks of fruit, like pineapple–put cling wrap over it and poke holes in it. They can get in, but not out!!

      That recipe sounds really good. I’m trying out stevia instead of sugar. If/when I end up trying these, I’ll let you know how they turn out with that substitution 🙂

Leave a Reply

