Night 2 of Successful Menu Planning: Best Pork Chops Ever!

So as planned in my Sunday post I was going to make some pork chops this week. Originally I had planned to make oven baked panko breaded pork chops but then I got an email from a new blog/website I started following; www.TheGraciousPantry.com. Today’s emailed recipe was for Clean Eating Weeknight Balsamic Pork Chops. As soon as I got the email I thought these sounded so good…but then worry set in. I’ve never really cooked or done anything with balsamic vinegar and quite frankly I didn’t even know if I liked it. Then I thought, the worse that can happen is they taste bad, then I smother the heck out them with BBQ sauce. Luckily when we went to the store on Sunday I bought some balsamic vinegar just to have on hand (in case I wanted some). I got home from work and decided to go for it!  Below is the recipe from the Gracious Pantry…

Clean Eating Weeknight Balsamic Pork Chops (from The Gracious Pantry)
(Makes 2 servings)

Ingredients:
2 breakfast-cut pork chops (about a scant 1/2 inch thick)
2 teaspoons olive oil
6 cloves garlic, chopped fine
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
Salt and pepper to taste

IMG_20130108_191457

Directions:
1.Heat the oil and add the garlic first, then the pork chops.
2.Brown the pork chops on both sides, then add the balsamic vinegar.
3.Continue to cook until the pork chops are done (at least 165 F.). {I cooked my pork chops to 140-145, then rested}
4.Serve with a veggie and grain of your choice.

Ok, I’ve had my fair share of pork over the years but I have to say, this is one of the best chop recipes ever! And did I mention easy?! I mean there is a total of 6 ingredients…and that’s counting the salt and pepper separate! I know now why she says “weeknight” chops. These were seriously so easy! We paired our chops with roasted sweet potatoes, onions and zucchini (cubed, then tossed with olive oil and garlic powder. Cook at 450 until tender). I also had some left over quinoa from last night so I tossed in some cheese and enjoyed.

IMG_20130108_191620.jpg
For a week night supper I don’t think this could have been much better! I will admit that I’ve gotten good at making extra quinoa and even better at peeling sweet potatoes for roasting but…any of you can do this. It was so easy. Has anyone else seen a recipe they were scared to try but tried it and loved it?! I would love to hear the recipe so I can try it for myself.

Part of this whole lifestyle change/fit addict thing is forcing me to branch out of my food comfort zone. Never would I have imagined I would be making these sorts of foods. The standard is this house is often grilled meat, baked potatoes and some veggies, frozen pizzas, or whatever other (usually not healthy) concoction I came up with. I must say, I do enjoy trying out new foods and flavors!

The Country Wife

P.S. Thanks to the pork producers who raised the pigs for these chops!

3 thoughts on “Night 2 of Successful Menu Planning: Best Pork Chops Ever!

    • I think you should make this for Don. It really wasn’t too strong at all because there was only one tablespoon of the balsamic. It was so good! Kyle loved it too!

  1. Pingback: Menu Planning #2 « The Life of a {New} Country Wife

Leave a Reply

