Spicy Mexican Chili

So being the nice wife that I am, knowing that K was working out in the cold and wind, I thought I would make him some soup for when he got home. Well I had gotten a chicken chili recipe from a coworker and thought it sounded good. Unfortunately when I got home, I did not have all the ingredients that I needed…sad face! But I decided to throw something together and see how it turned out. I wanted to make something spicy so K would actually like it. Check out the recipe below…

Spicy Mexican Chili
(Serves 8 – 170 Calories per 1 c. serving)

1/4 c. (each) Fresh Onion, Red Pepper and Green Pepper – Diced
1 Tbsp. Olive Oil
14 – 16 oz. Canned Turkey or Chicken, with broth (I used half of a 28 oz can)
1 c. Hot Salsa (use mild or medium for less heat)
2 c. Corn (we still have frozen sweet corn from the garden!)
1 Tbsp. Taco Seasoning (Here’s a great recipe to make your own)
1 Can Tomato Sauce
1 Can Water

First heat oil in the bottom of a large sauce pan or stock pot. Then add onions/peppers and stir until lightly cooked. Next add in turkey or chicken and heat through. Once warmed, lower to medium-high heat and add salsa, corn, taco seasoning, tomato sauce and water. Combine and bring to simmer for 10-15 minutes. Serve and enjoy! I added some fat free cheddar cheese and paired that with a grilled cheese sandwich on Ezekial bread. A great and quick supper!


Due to K’s work this week he has sworn off all beans and corn. I would tell you where he is working, but trust me you don’t want to know! So since he didn’t eat any, I was able to dish some up for work and put two containers in the freezer for later! I love when I can freeze food…perfect for nights I don’t want to cook!

IMG_20130211_215527.jpg
Hope everyone had a great Monday! Hopefully I will be posting more this week 🙂

The Country Wife

Leave a Reply

